New Branchville Creamery Opened
Now Receives Eight Hundred Cans From One Hundred
Twenty Seven Dairies
Tuesday of this week the Sussex Milk & Cream Company,
a subsidiary of the Borden Company, opened its new creamery at Branchville
for receiving milk. The building, which is 50 x 100 feet, is located
on the side of the D.L. & W.R.R. station, which has been moved across
the tracks. It is equipped with the most modern machinery, which in
turn is operated by power furnished through Diesel engines.
Eight hundred cans of milk are received daily from
one hundred twenty seven farmers. Nearly all of this milk is brought
to the creamery by truckers hired by the farmers and comes from a wide
area. Over the mountain, milk is brought from Flatbrookville to Port
Jervis; also it is brought from Beemerville, Papakating, Hamburg, Lafayette,
Newton, Swartswood and other points.
The Borden Company built the creamery that was abandoned
at Branchville this week in 1901, and since that time has enlarged and
remodeled once or twice.
Carl J. Barker, who has been with the company for thirty-three
years, has been superintendent at Branchville since 1921. When he first
came to Branchville, the creamery received between 450 and 500 cans
of milk per day and nearly all of it was carted by horses and wagons.
At that time about thirty-five men were employed in the creamery, and
all milk received was bottled at the local plant. Today all the milk
received is shipped to Newark in tank cars and trucks and bottled there.