Register August 2, 1900
The law compelling railroads to be equipped
with automatic couplers took effect Tuesday. There will be no more links
and pins on cars and the railroad employees will not be in such danger
of losing fingers or arms as in times past.
Sussex Register August 9, 1900
Work on the cut off to Stanhope is progressing
The Lackawanna Sunday excursion to Coney Island was
a success in point of numbers. A train of nine cars was run over the
Sussex road, and 125 persons took passage at Newton. From Washington
and Hackettstown, the train consisted of thirteen cars. The excursionists
from Newton arrived home at 10:30 P. M. and those from Branchville and
Franklin half an hour later.
Sussex Register - August 16, 1900 issue
Lackawanna officials deny that the 1:10
p.m. train from New York makes connection at Waterloo for Newton. We
are informed that during the past month passengers on that train have
found a locomotive and car waiting at Waterloo making connection with
Newton. A knowledge of this fact to those failing to connect with the
noon train might save three hours wait in the city.
Sussex Register August 23, 1900
The work of constructing bridges over
the Musconetcong river and the several creeks and ponds crossed by the
"cut-off" line of the Sussex railroad has been begun. The working force
is now in sight of passengers on the old line.
Judging from the number of flasks picked
up near the stations, some of the boys who went on the Sunday excursion
to Coney Island must have been feasting on salt cod fish in anticipation
of the event.